Top 5 combination of cricket and football team; IPL and ISL with same brand name

The Indian Premier League and The Indian Super League have been around since 2008 and 2013 respectively and have given a new source of life to passionate and hardworking sportsmen who are willing to live their dream.

The top teams from both the leagues have a similarity in the name of the city/state used to represent the franchise and it shows the supremacy, dominance and powerhouse representatives of the sport in the leagues.

The IPL has the Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Chennai Superkings while the ISL has its represented franchises in Mumbai City FC, Delhi Dynamos FC, Hyderabad FC, Bengaluru FC and Chennaiyin FC.

Combination of two brands with the same name has been the essence of the fanbase across both the leagues and sports.

We look at the top 5 combinations as mentioned above and their journeys in the rise to the top.


Mumbai Indians have been the top team in the IPL over the last 7 years, winning the tournament a whopping 5 times in their 13 year-tenure since its inception in 2008.

They hold the record for having won the most IPL titles till date, making them the most bankable and top franchises in the history of the league and sport.
Mumbai City FC have slowly become the top team of ISL with their consistent performances. Their best season in the league came in 2016, where they reached the semifinals.

In the current 2020-21 season, they finished table toppers and have reached the finals for the very first time and will look to register their first ever ISL crown.


Delhi Capitals have been another rising team in the IPL having reached the Semi finals of the league in 3 different seasons (2008,2009,2012,2019) and being runners up in the 2020 edition.

Delhi Dynamos now Odisha FC have performed admirably in the ISL, their best seasons being semi-finalists in the 2015 and 2016 edition.


Sunrisers Hyderabad was founded in 2012 after the team Deccan Chargers was terminated by the IPL. The team’s best performance came in the 2016 season when they won their first ever IPL title under the captaincy of David Warner.

This franchise after Mumbai Indians and Chennai Superkings have been most consistent in the IPL having reached the semi finals in 4 of their 8 seasons, with 2 appearances in the finals, being victorious in one of them.

Hyderabad FC have been the newbies in the ISL and have been on the block for just a season. They were founded in 2019, when the FC Pune City franchise was disbanded by the ISL.


Royal Challengers Bangalore’s consistent rise and fall have made them one of the most loved franchises across India. The passion of the fans, consistency in their key players have seen them through good and tough times.

The team has had a stop start journey in the IPL reaching the semifinals on three occasions (2010, 2015,2020) while being runners up in 2009 and 2011. RCB are yet to win the IPL since 2008.

Bengaluru FC became an official team in the ISL in 2017 and have since been the big hits of the league winning the ISL in 2018-19 and also runners up in their very first season (2017-18).


Chennai Superkings under the captaincy of MS Dhoni since the inception in 2008 have been the most consistent performing team of the IPL.

They have reached the Semifinals in all but one season which shows their consistency. They were the winners on 3 occasions being 2010,2011 and 2018; this team has been the highlight of the IPL with its incredible rise to the top.

Chennaiyin FC of the ISL have shown the same consistency that their IPL counterparts have demonstrated. The Chennai based club have won the titles in 2015 and in 2017-18 while being runners up in 2019-20, showing their supremacy and dominance.

The 2015 final will always be remembered for the comeback made by Chennaiyin Fc from 2-1 down top 3-2 winners with the last 2 goals scored in extra time.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here