Home Cricket IPL 2022

IPL 2022



IPL: The exact starting dates of the IPL will vary from year to year but it will generally begin in the first week of April. The 2022 IPL starts on March 26th. The group stages kick off the competition and these progress through the month and into May.

The knockouts take over and the final will generally be scheduled for late May or early June. These dates are subject to change but this is the framework within which the tournament has worked for many years.

IPL Franchise Teams

From 2022 onwards, the IPL will consist of ten franchise teams. Those sides who played in 2021 will continue to be involved and they are:

Chennai Super Kings

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Delhi Capitals

Punjab Kings

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Mumbai Indians

Rajasthan Royals

Kolkata Knight Riders

Lucknow Super Giants

Gujarat Titans

IPL Match Rules

The format of the IPL follows the rules of T20 cricket. Both teams are allocated a maximum of 20 overs each and the simple aim is to score more runs than the opposition.

T20 is identical to ODI cricket in the sense that the side batting first sets a target. The fielding side then take their turn to bat and they must overtake that total within their allocated set of overs.

If the side batting second fail to overtake the target, the side batting first wins.

Bowling teams can use as many bowlers as they want but each bowler can deliver a maximum of four overs.

If the scores are tied at the end of the game, there will be a Super Over to decide the winner. One six-ball over will be sent down to each team and the batting sides have two wickets available. If the scores remain level, the Super Over process will be repeated until we have a winner.

Previous Winners of IPL

The 2021 tournament was the 14th edition of the IPL. The winners since the inception of this competition are:

  • Mumbai Indians: (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020)
  • Chennai Super Kings: (2010, 2011, 2018, 2021)
  • Kolkata Knight Riders: (2012, 2014)
  • Rajasthan Royals: (2008)
  • Deccan Chargers: (2009)
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad: (2016)